Workplace Discrimination Solicitor

Discrimination at work is a complicated subject.  The key legislation is the Equality Act 2010 (EA).

The EA offers protection to the UK work force in all sections of employment.

Protected Characteristics
The purpose of the EA is to prevent workers from being subjected to unfavourable treatment due to having a protected characteristic.

The Protected Characteristics are:

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender reassignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex
  • Sex orientation

Types of Discrimination

The recognised forms of discrimination are direct discrimination, indirect discrimination, harassment and victimisation.  There are additional types specific to disability discrimination, namely failure to make reasonable adjustments and discrimination arising from disability.

Making a Claim

There are various types of discrimination claims that can be made.

Unlike other areas (such as unfair dismissal) there is no minimum continuous service requirement to bring a discrimination claim.  There are however strict time limits, which can often be a complicating factor.  The time limit to bring a claim is usually 3 months less one day from the date of the discriminatory act complained of.

Managing this area can be difficult and advice is recommended. We are well versed in discrimination claims and can offer you the advice and assistance you need.

Get In Touch

Please call us on 0207 118 9218 or complete a Free Online Enquiry and we will be in touch.